Auckland’s top excavator operator

This article first appeared in Contractor magazine’s December issue.

Jason Toomer-Reti has been named as the Auckland region’s best excavator operator after an intense three-day competition against 34 others.

Twenty-five year old Jason, from Manurewa, demonstrated his superlative skills in operating his machine during the Civil Contractors New Zealand Auckland regional excavator operator competition held at Big Boys Toys at ASB Showgrounds in October.

The regional competition was one of 10 held around the country to find our best excavator operators. Regional winners will compete at Central Districts Field Days (Manfeild Park, Feilding) in March 2017 to take out the National Excavator Operator title.

Jason, who works for ICB Construction, says he was delighted to win the title and put his success down to good preparation, experience and hard work – but in all he was overwhelmed with the result as he wasn’t sure where he had placed.

Regan Burke from ICB Construction says he was very pleased with Jason’s win and he had showed a very high level of skill, knowledge and professionalism. As this was Jason’s fourth year attempting to reach first place, he finally made it!

“ICB has supported this competition for four years as we’ve seen that it helps foster enthusiasm for excellence amongst our operators,” says Regan.

Jason’s prize/s consisted of food vouchers, Hirepool vouchers, $250 Z Energy voucher, a Supercheap Auto Voucher from Connexis, a CivilShare solar-powered phone charger, ICB BBQ set, a range of hats, mugs and cups, a Hitachi jacket and portable stereo, a rugby ball signed by Richie McCaw, an all expenses paid trip to the Nationals in the Manawatu next March and a $1000 cheque donated by the following sponsors: CablePrice, Enzed, Hirepool, CivilShare App, ICB Retaining & Construction, Humes, Z Energy, Stellar Workforce, Oil Intel, Unitech, Connexis, Tai Poutini digger school, Pilehire, BeforeUDig, and First Gas.

The other prizes went to the following competitors – who also won a load of prizes similar to the ones listed above:
• Second prize went to competition veteran Brian Hoffman from Brian Hoffman (previous three-times nationals champion).
• Third prize went to Keresoma Laeli from United Civil.
• Team prize for most accumulated points went to United Civil and Keresome Laeli, Chris Harry and Moses Pu Tamainu.
• The Non CCNZ member prize went to Laine Christensen from LC Contractors.
• The Good Bugger prize went to Miles Dempsey from Opie Contractors for his general attitude.

Related posts

Parting words from Jeremy Sole- a final column

Contrafed PUblishing

Smoko antics

Contrafed PUblishing

Nelmac’s water woman

Contrafed PUblishing